Thoughts on lawyers and legal research

I am currently co-authoring a book on Arbitration. My partner-in-crime for this is an advocate with whom I have shared many interesting conversations.

Spending so much time in close proximity to a lawyer has given me a unique perspective.

 

Two quotes of his that have stuck in my mind:

“ Only fools and their lawyers go to court”.

“ If this case is managed correctly it can run forever”

 

What you can learn from this is that you should stay out of court at all costs!

Most problems and disputes can be settled out of court unless it is a criminal case in which you have little control over the manner of resolution.

Court cases drag on and often get postponed and delayed. This is good for the lawyer as he makes more money but bad for you.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment